American Osteopathic Association

Advancing the distinctive philosophy and practice of osteopathic medicine

Board of Trustees

burke.jpgWilliam J. Burke, DO
Columbus, Ohio

An AOA board-certified family physician, Dr. Burke became dean of the Ohio University (OU-HCOM) Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine’s Central Ohio campus in Dublin, in July 2013. Prior to his appointment as dean, Dr. Burke served as vice president of medical education at OhioHealth Doctors Hospital in Columbus. He also serves as an associate professor of family medicine at OU-HCOM.

In his position as an AOA trustee, Dr. Burke has served as the chair of the AOA Bureau of Communications and the Bureau of Clinical Education and Research. At the state level, he is a past president of the Ohio State Society of American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians (ACOFP) and the Columbus Academy of Osteopathic Medicine.

A fellow of the ACOFP, Dr. Burke received the Trustees Award from the Ohio Osteopathic Association in 2013, the Family Physician of the Year Award from the Ohio State Society of the ACOFP in 2010 and the American Osteopathic Foundation's Distinguished Service Award in 2008.​

After earning his osteopathic medical degree from OU-HCOM, Dr. Burke completed his internship and residency at Doctors Hospital of Columbus, where he served as chief resident.