American Osteopathic Association

Advancing the distinctive philosophy and practice of osteopathic medicine

Members of the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA)

​Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) Membership Roster 2016-2017

Kenneth H. Johnson, DO, FAAO, Chair
Executive Dean
Ohio University-Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine
Athens, OH
Dean, Public College (2014-17)

Janice A. Knebl, DO, MBA, FACOI, FACP, Vice Chair
Director, Center for Geriatrics
DSWOP Endowed Chair and Professor in Geriatrics
University of North Texas Health Science Center
Fort Worth, TX
Educator (2015-2018)

Juan F. Acosta, DO, FACOEP-D, FACEP
Adjunct Clinical Professor
Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences
Yakima, WA
Director of Medical Education (2015-2018)

Harriet C. Arnone, PhD
(Vice President for Planning and Assessment, New York Institute of Technology)
Public Member (2016-19)

William T. Betz, DO, MBA, FACOFP, dist.
Acting Dean
University of Pikeville-Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine
Senior Associate Dean for Osteopathic Medical Education, UP-KYCOM
Pikeville, KY
Member-at-Large (2016-19)

Thomas A. Cavalieri, DO, FACOI, FACP
Rowan University College of Osteopathic Medicine
Stratford, NJ
Member-at-Large (2014-17)

Michael B. Clearfield, DO, FACOI, FACP
Touro University College of Osteopathic Medicine-CA
Vallejo, CA
Dean, Private College (2016-19)

David A. Forstein, DO, FACOOG
Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
University of South Carolina School of Medicine Greenville
Greenville, SC
Educator (2014-17)

Jennifer L. Gwilym, DO, FACOFP, FAAFP
Assistant Professor Family Medicine
Ohio University-Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine
Athens, OH
Member-at-Large (2014-17)

John M. Kauffman, Jr., DO, FACOI, FACP
Dean and Chief Academic Officer
Campbell University-Jerry M. Wallace School of Osteopathic Medicine
Buies Creek, NC
Member-at-Large (2016-19)

Ronnie B. Martin, DO, FACOFP, dist.
Chair, Primary Care
Arkansas College of Osteopathic Medicine
Fort Smith, AR
Member-at-Large (2014-17)

Franklin J. Medio, PhD
Consulting Services for the Health Professions
Charleston, SC
Public Member (2016-19)

Evelyn A. Schwalenberg, DO, FACP, FACOI, FNAOME
Associate Dean of Clinical Education
Midwestern University/Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine
Glendale, AZ
Member-at-Large (2015-18)

William D. Strampel, DO, FACOI
Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine
East Lansing, MI
Member-at-Large (2015-18)

Jeffrey Stroup, PharmD, BCPS
Chief Operating Officer
Oklahoma State University Medical Center
Hospital Administrator (2016-19)

Robert E. Suter, DO, MHA, FACOEP-D
Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine
University of Texas Southwestern
Dallas, TX
Member-at-Large (2015-18)

Richard A. Winn, EdD
Vice President of Operations
Accrediting Commission for Community & Junior Colleges
Western Association of Schools and Colleges
Novato, CA
Public Member (2015-18)

AOA Staff to the Commission
Brian Kim, JD, Interim Secretary, Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation