American Osteopathic Association

Advancing the distinctive philosophy and practice of osteopathic medicine

Family Physicians

​Specialty board requirements for osteopathic continuous certification (OCC) for family physicians are as follows:

OCC Cycle:

​8 years

Component 1: Active licensure

​Maintenance of medical licensure through OCC; Adherence to AOA Code of Ethics; Remedial activities may be required

Component 2: Lifelong learning and continuing medical education

​For each 3-year AOA CME Cycle, 150 credits, including 50 specialty credits. As applicable, 13 credits per CME cycle for subspecialty certification (CSQ, CAQ)

Component 2: Self-assessment modules or activities

​None required

Component 3: Cognitive assessment

​Secure written and practical examination once per OCC cycle

Component 4: Practice performance assessment
and improvement

​2 modules every 3 years for first 6 years

Component 5: Continuous AOA membership

​Must maintain active in good standing AOA membership throughout the OCC cycle