American Osteopathic Association

Advancing the distinctive philosophy and practice of osteopathic medicine

Obstetrics and Gynecology

​Specialty board requirements for osteopathic continuous certification (OCC) in obstetrics and gynecology are as follows:

OCC Cycle:​ ​6 years
Component 1: Active licensure
​Maintenance of medical licensure through OCC; Adherence to AOA code of Ethics; Remedial activities may be required
Component 2: Lifelong learning and continuing medical education ​For each 3-year AOA CME Cycle, 120 credits, including 50 specialty credits. As applicable, 13 credits per CME cycle for subspecialty certification (CSQ, CAQ)
Component 2: Self-assessment modules or activities​ ​None required
Component 3: Cognitive assessment ​Secure written examination once per OCC cycle
Component 4: Practice performance assessment and improvement​ ​2 modules each certification cycle (6 years)
Component 5: Continuous AOA membership
​Must maintain active in good standing AOA membership throughout the OCC cycle