American Osteopathic Association

Advancing the distinctive philosophy and practice of osteopathic medicine

Preventive Medicine

​Specialty board requirements for osteopathic continuous certification (OCC) in preventive medicine are as follows:

​OCC Cycle:

​9 years

​Component 1: Active licensure

​Maintenance of medical licensure through OCC; Adherence to AOA Code of Ethics; Remedial activities may be required

​Component 2: Lifelong learning and continuing medical education

​For each 3-year AOA CME Cycle, 120 credits, including 50 specialty credits. As applicable, 13 credits per CME cycle for subspecialty certification (CSQ, CAQ)

​Component 2: Self-assessment modules or activities

​None required

Component 3: Cognitive assessment

​Secure written examination once per OCC cycle

Component 4: Practice performance assessment and improvement

​1 module each certification cycle (9 years)

​Component 5: Continuous AOA membership

​Must maintain active in good standing AOA membership throughout the OCC cycle