American Osteopathic Association

Advancing the distinctive philosophy and practice of osteopathic medicine

CME Sponsor Accreditation

The AOA's continuing medical education (CME) program strives for growth of knowledge, refinement of skills, and the deepening of understanding for the osteopathic profession. The AOA Board of Trustees establishes accreditation policy for osteopathic CME sponsors. The Council on Continuing Medical Education (CCME) has been delegated authority by the AOA Board of Trustees to monitor osteopathic CME and to grant or deny Category 1 accreditation status to osteopathic CME sponsors. 

CME Information

CME Credit for Osteopathic Specialists/Subspecialists:

The AOA Board of Trustees approved a resolution to assist specialists and subspecialists in obtaining AOA Category 1-A credit. In addition, the AOA approved those Category 1 CME Sponsors having recognized specialty and/or sub-specialty certificate holders numbering less than 300 members the ability to satisfy a portion of their AOA Category 1-A CME requirement using ACCME Category 1 credits. Following are physician totals by Specialty/Subspecialty:  

2013-2015 CME Cycle  


 Policies and Forms