American Osteopathic Association

Advancing the distinctive philosophy and practice of osteopathic medicine

2016-2018 CME Guide

Category 1-A Credit

AOA Category 1-A credits will be granted to attendees for formal educational programs designed to enhance clinical competence and improve patient care. These programs must be sponsored by an AOA-accredited Category 1 CME sponsor and are limited to:

Formal Osteopathic CME

Consisting of formal face-to-face programs or interactive online (see Sections II and III, AOA Accreditation Requirements for AOA Category 1 CME Sponsors) that meet the Category 1 quality guidelines, faculty requirements, and which are sponsored by AOA-accredited Category 1 CME sponsors.

Topics must be related to any of the seven Core Competencies listed below, as the core competencies have been recognized throughout the continuum of osteopathic education as essential and critical to the development and maintenance of osteopathic physicians' overall education.

Seven Core Competencies

  1. Osteopathic Philosophy/Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine – Demonstration and application of knowledge of accepted standards in osteopathic manipulative treatment appropriate to the specialty; dedication to life-long learning and to incorporating the practice of osteopathic philosophy and OMM in patient care.

  2. Medical Knowledge - Demonstration and application of knowledge of accepted standards of clinical medicine in the respective area; remain current with new developments in medicine and participate in life-long learning.

  3. Patient Care - Demonstrate the ability to effectively treat patients and provide medical care that incorporates the osteopathic philosophy, patient empathy, awareness of behavioral issues, the incorporation of preventive medicine and health promotion.

  4. Interpersonal and Communication Skills - Demonstrate interpersonal and communication skills that enable a physician to establish and maintain professional relationships with patients, families, and other members of health care teams.

  5. Professionalism – Uphold the Osteopathic Oath in the conduct of one’s professional activities that promotes advocacy of patient welfare, adherence to ethical principles, and collaboration with health professionals, life-long learning, and sensitivity to a diverse patient population; be cognizant of physical and mental health in order to effectively care for patients.

  6. Practice-Based Learning and Improvement - Demonstrate the ability to critically evaluate methods of clinical practice, integrate evidence-based medicine into patient care; show an understanding of research methods; improve patient care practices.

  7. Systems-Based Practice – Demonstrate an understanding of health care delivery systems; provide effective and qualitative patient care within the system; and practice cost-effective medicine.

Osteopathic Medical Teaching

Physicians who participate as lecturers in osteopathic medical education in a didactic format are eligible to receive Category 1-A credit for their participation. Credit is granted on an hour-for-hour basis. Methods of this education are limited to:

  • Formal delivery of osteopathic medical education lectures in colleges of osteopathic medicine, speaking at specialty and divisional society conferences.

  • Formal delivery of osteopathic medical education to students, interns, residents, fellows, and staff of AOA-accredited Category 1 CME sponsors.

  • Teaching credit must be verified by the CME Department of an AOA-accredited Category 1 CME college of osteopathic medicine or Category 1 CME sponsoring hospital.

CME credits will not be awarded for participation of lectures.

Standardized Federal Aviation Courses

The following standardized CME programs sponsored by the Federal Aviation Administration or the United States Armed Services are eligible for Category 1-A credit.

  • Aviation Medicine

  • Flight Surgeon Primary Course

  • Cardiology Themed Seminars

  • Neurological Themed Seminars

  • Basic Standardized Seminars

In addition, all standardized CME courses offered by the Civil Aeronautic Institute or Federal Aviation Administration for the purpose of maintaining an aeromedical examiner designation are eligible for Category 1-A.

Federal Programs

AOA Category 1-A credit will be awarded for formal CME programs to participants who are on active duty or employed by a uniformed service. Category 1-B will be awarded to all other federal CME activities.

Grand Rounds

Grand rounds will be considered for AOA Category 1-A credit. To obtain this credit, grand rounds must be submitted in series of three and must meet the requirements for Category 1-A credit.

Judging Osteopathic Clinical Case Presentations and Research Poster Presentations

Osteopathic physicians serving as formal judges for osteopathic clinical case presentations and research poster presentations at a formal CME function will be awarded AOA Category 1-A credits. This credit is granted on an hour-for-hour basis. The physician may earn up to a maximum of 10 credits per AOA three-year CME cycle.​


 Share This